Type 1 Diabetes Research Program

We are connected!

Have a question about type 1 diabetes research? Contact us at 800-888-4187 or Diabetes@ BenaroyaResearch.org.

The Diabetes Clinical Research Program (DCRP) at Benaroya Research Institute is an international leader in type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes research. The program’s goal is to help families with type 1 diabetes by investigating ways to prevent diabetes, finding new approaches of diagnosing the disease in its earliest stage to optimize the potential for successful treatment, and testing innovative new therapies.

In addition to conducting clinical research, DCRP plays a strong leadership role in a number of national and international consortia:

Primary Investigator

Carla Greenbaum, MD
Carla Greenbaum, MD, is director of the diabetes research program and the Clinical Research Center. As the Chair of Type 1 Diabetes TrialNet, a National Institutes of Health (NIH) international consortium, and Principal Investigator of the TrialNet Northwest Clinical Site, Dr. Greenbaum has been named one of the world's top experts in type 1 diabetes.

Learn more about Dr. Greenbaum.

Other Staff Members

Tee Bahnson
Principal Biostatistician
Mary Ramey, RD, CDE
Clinical Research Coordinator
Anna Barash, RN, BSN, CDE
Clinical Research Nurse
Sarah Robinson
Administrative Assistant
Emily Batts
Clinical Research Coordinator
Megan Smithmyer
PostDoctoral Research Associate
Hannah Bauermeister
Research Assistant
Cate Speake, PhD
Research Assistant Member
Rachel Hartley
Research Technician
Corinna Tordillos
Clinical Research Coordinator
Wendy Hilliker
Program Administrator
Dana VanBuecken, ARNP
Research Nurse Practitioner

David Kook
Clinical Research Coordinator

Kim Varner
Manager, Center for Interventional Immunology
Rishab Kotak
Research Assistant
Heather White
Clinical Research Coordinator

Sandra Lord, MD
Clinical Director, Center for Interventional Immunology

Nancy Wickstrom
Research Outreach Coordinator
Colin O'Rourke
Alyssa Ylescupidez
Arielle Pagryzinski
Project Manager